Display:
Phone
Tablet
Small Desktop
Large Desktop
21 Positive Reviews
1 Negative Reviews

Tell us about a review for Abbey Windows (thames valley) Ltd

Your details        This will not be published or disclosed to any other party.

Write a review for Abbey Windows (thames valley) Ltd

You can post a review for this business here. Please note that all reviews are subject to moderation before publication and confirmation that you are a genuine customer.

Drop Files here to upload or click to select.
Include a copy of proof of purchase so that we can verify your review.
Your details will NOT be used for marketing purposes or sent to any third party.
For further infomation on how we store and use your data and your rights in relation to your data, please see our Privacy Policy
By submitting this form, you are agreeing that you have read and understand our Terms and Conditions.

Reviews

February 2019
We have known of Abbey Windows for years. Having researched them online, we decided to get a quotation from them for replacement windows and new bifolding doors. We are extremely pleased we did. The service was tremendous from start to finish. They were very thorough, the products look great and there price sat in the middle of the nationals. My wife and I would recommend Abbey in the future. Mr. S. Maguire

Report this review

If you think this review is a hoax, malicious, unfair or you would like to add a company comment
please report it for investigation

April 2018
We have recently had our front windows and door replaced which has completely transformed the property. There was no high pressure sales talk just helpful advice. Craig the fitter and his young apprentice were stars and a credit to the company. This is this years project completed. next year the rear windows I know which company I will be using

Report this review

If you think this review is a hoax, malicious, unfair or you would like to add a company comment
please report it for investigation

March 2018
We have just had 10 widows and 1 french door fitted, all of which are of excellent quality. The fitters were first class with their friendly attitude and professionalism and everything was done to a high standard. There were no high pressure sales techniques just a straight forward quote to be considered at leisure. We were pleasantly surprised on how much money we saved by using Abbey Widows. I highly recommend this company.

Report this review

If you think this review is a hoax, malicious, unfair or you would like to add a company comment
please report it for investigation

December 2017
Fantastic service and workmanship from start to finish. From the Sales team to the surveyors to the fitters and aftercare teams, it's been a pleasure to deal with a well run local company that puts the customer first.

Report this review

If you think this review is a hoax, malicious, unfair or you would like to add a company comment
please report it for investigation

December 2017
Friendly and informative staff, fitting carried out in a day to a high standard. Excellent service.

Report this review

If you think this review is a hoax, malicious, unfair or you would like to add a company comment
please report it for investigation

November 2017
Would highly recommend. Abbey Windows are extremely professional and would thoroughly recommend. We are extremely pleased with our windows which have transformed the house.

Report this review

If you think this review is a hoax, malicious, unfair or you would like to add a company comment
please report it for investigation

November 2017
We were recommended Abbey by some friends because of the good service, competitive pricing and friendly staff. They weren't wrong. Right from the first interaction with the salesman, we had a good feeling about Abbey. They didn't try to sell us what we didn't need, were honest about the products and what would and would not work for us. Our cats even liked him! (A far cry from the two other salesman who gave us a quotes!!) Pricing was certainly competitive. Whenever I had to ring up the staff were helpful and friendly. And the fitters were great guys. Very competent and talked us through all the work they were doing and what they found on our 200 year old house. The only small point for improvement is that from placing the order to getting a fitting date was a good few weeks with no communication. We started to wonder whether everything was ok or not. Just an email or two during this time to update us and reassure us would go a long way. Overall, a 5 star sale that we are really happy with. The windows and doors look and feel great and have transformed our little cottage immeasurably. Thanks!

Report this review

If you think this review is a hoax, malicious, unfair or you would like to add a company comment
please report it for investigation

November 2017
We have had a Porch enclosed with new doors and glass on all sides. * Survey, Design, Pricing, Contract, Date fixing, Installation - All very professionally done * All very courteous and nice gentlemen who attended in all phases * Lead times could have been bit shorter, of course were informed during contract * It could have helped to have a bit more advise on beautification All in all, nice job and thank you.

Report this review

If you think this review is a hoax, malicious, unfair or you would like to add a company comment
please report it for investigation

November 2017
They turned up on time to put the new Windows in. They were all put in properly and lookvery good. The opening and locking procedure was clearly explained.

Report this review

If you think this review is a hoax, malicious, unfair or you would like to add a company comment
please report it for investigation

November 2017
Great products and Service. I couldn't recommend them enough. Mr. Donovan

Report this review

If you think this review is a hoax, malicious, unfair or you would like to add a company comment
please report it for investigation

November 2017
Abbey provided our windows some years ago which we were pleased with and so when we decided to have our soffits done we went to them. Their standard remains as good and we are very pleased with the result. They fitted the roof line with the minimum of fuss, were always courteous and conscientious and the site was always left as it was found. I would have no hesitation in recommending Abbey to friends and family.

Report this review

If you think this review is a hoax, malicious, unfair or you would like to add a company comment
please report it for investigation

November 2017
I had my window installed by Abbey over a year ago and I've recommended them to everybody since. I can't remember the installers names but they were brilliant and picked up after them self.
 

Report this review

If you think this review is a hoax, malicious, unfair or you would like to add a company comment
please report it for investigation

November 2017
Very impressed with the no-pressure sales process and competitive pricing. We ordered front doors and the surveyor came within a few days and then the doors were custom made and installed within a fortnight- the installer was very thorough and left the property as clean as it was when he arrived, even demonstrating how to operate the door!

Report this review

If you think this review is a hoax, malicious, unfair or you would like to add a company comment
please report it for investigation

November 2017
We have used Abbey on three occasions. Each time we have used them it has been straight forward. We have never been put under pressure to buy. We have just had a conservatory and bifolding doors fitted. Chris and Chris were extremely efficient and tidy. The works were completed on time and to my high standards. Like others on here I would have no problems recommending Abbey Windows. One last thought Visit the showroom and speak to the staff they were brilliant with us. I chose my conservatory as they had what I wanted in the showroom so I could touch and appreciate what I was buying.

Report this review

If you think this review is a hoax, malicious, unfair or you would like to add a company comment
please report it for investigation

November 2017
We have just had replacement windows and doors fitted by Abbey Windows. From our initial contact, to obtaining a detailed quote, advice on building regs, follow up survey of the property, contract preparation and finally the fitting, the company has been totally professional. All staff we had dealings with were very open and approachable and we found them extremely helpful and courteous at all times. The fitting date was well ahead of plan and the fitting team arrived on time on the days scheduled. The work was completed to a high standard, inevitably there was some disruption, as you would expect with any building work but each day the team cleared away any debris on site and vacuumed as necessary. We had one issue with a misdetailed window (clear glass should have been obscure) but this was actioned quickly and replacement glass fitted the following week. Overall we are extremely pleased with the end result and would happily recommend Abbey Windows to any potential future customers.

Report this review

If you think this review is a hoax, malicious, unfair or you would like to add a company comment
please report it for investigation

November 2017
We had Abbey to quote for our Windows. Andy came out to see us he and was brilliant. We had no sales patter just good advice. Their prices were reasonable, we also visited the showroom. It was great as the flush casement windows we wanted were actually on display 🙂 Windows are now fitted and look outstanding. We are very pleased with Abbey and their people. Start to finish has been a real pleasure. My sister has just had her windows and doors replaced now also. They have had a very positive experience like us Toni.

Report this review

If you think this review is a hoax, malicious, unfair or you would like to add a company comment
please report it for investigation

November 2017
Abbey have been a tremendous help. The windows and doors supplied have been of excellent standard. The fitter Craig was a breathe of fresh air. I would have no problem recomending this company to anyone. Sean.

Report this review

If you think this review is a hoax, malicious, unfair or you would like to add a company comment
please report it for investigation

November 2017
The service and that I have received from Abbey Windows as been of a very high standard from start to finish. The information provided by the estimator and then surveyor really put me at ease before ordering my new windows and door,and then the on going communication throughout the installation process was as good as could of been expected. The fitters done a great job and were very polite. The end result is amazing. I had a few minor snags that were dealt with straight away without question. I would certainly recommend Abbey Windows to anyone especially if they are apprehensive about the industry.

Report this review

If you think this review is a hoax, malicious, unfair or you would like to add a company comment
please report it for investigation

October 2017
The quality of the product and the fitting were 5 stars. The area where as a customer we felt a little disappointed was on our first few visits to the show room. My wife had very specific requirements and didn't want bulky hinges, we were told you can have what we got. It was only after subsequent visits that the exact requirements were met. I would definitely recommend Abbey Windows to everyone.

Report this review

If you think this review is a hoax, malicious, unfair or you would like to add a company comment
please report it for investigation

October 2017
I would highly recommend this company. Great products and customer service. No hard sales tactics

Report this review

If you think this review is a hoax, malicious, unfair or you would like to add a company comment
please report it for investigation

October 2017
I have used Abbey Windows on and off for over 30 years. I even used the company prior to it becoming Abbey Windows some 35 years ago. They have always been accommodating and reasonably priced. I have sent my son and now even my grandson to them. I recently purchased a conservatory; I was amazed to see their showroom. And all the options available to me. I spoke with Neil the company MD to thank him for the continued fantastic service. I didn't have the largest conservatory 3mtr by 3mtr; with the livin roof detail. But I fully appreciated how complex my works were. Their chaps Andy and Rob did a stunning job and I am honestly over the moon. I do already use my conservatory although it is only 5c outside. It's no longer a fridge like my old conservatory.

Report this review

If you think this review is a hoax, malicious, unfair or you would like to add a company comment
please report it for investigation

May 2015
We’d ordered an Easifold bifold door and 5 windows from Abbey but our experience of this company turned into a complete nightmare that is still unresolved. They started work much later than their quoted lead time, then left the ground floor windows and bifold door half-finished for a month, with only temporary single glazing in the door that was letting in water – and only came back after I’d complained. Meanwhile, they invoiced me for the balance without having finished the work. They also quoted over £1,8K for a 3.5m2 upper window for a hole that hadn’t been made yet but when the surveyor measured up, the final window came out at under half the size - 1.5m2. I pointed out it should likewise be reduced in price but they refused to do so, though eventually, they took off a nominal £100; I believe I was overcharged by @ £700. They then aggressively pursued the balance, expecting me to pay up the second the installers had finally finished, and voiced their annoyance that I’d wanted my husband to see it that evening before I paid up! The next morning, they bombarded me with phone calls from the moment I got up and sent an office junior up to my home to collect a cheque from me that morning – all very suspicious and intimidating. The Easifold doors soon became impossible to close or lock on a hot day and I requested Abbey come and sort this out but the installations manager made up complete fabrications concerning the cause of the problem, without ever seeing it, claiming we had caused it ourselves! He refused to rectify the matter and I had to get a window doctor out, who informed me that the problem lay in there not having been sufficient tolerances allowed in either its installation or manufacture. I reported the matter to Consumer Direct and was advised to send a recorded delivery letter to Abbey, quoting their legal obligations and giving a reasonable time frame to put the matter right, but they replied with accusative letters and have denied any obligation on their part. Their service engineers have since come out on several occasions to change the trickle vents that became misshapen in the summer’s heat (which took them 4 attempts!), and all agreed unofficially that the bifold door has been badly installed, but said the company had instructed them not to touch it. So the company’s warranty covering installations against future failures is obviously not worth the paper it’s written on as Abbey will always wriggle out of its obligations. When the window doctor saw the condition of the rest of Abbey’s work, he was more concerned at the state of the 4 ground floor windows that he said was the worst he’d ever seen; they were jutting out at varying levels, the frames bowed and proud of the rendering in places, and he said they would eventually leak. Part of the problem lay in the fact that Abbey’s surveyor had proposed that the windows would look good on our ‘modernist’ home if they were sill-less and said he knew how he could do this – but he never explained the possible consequences of having them installed. I reported the whole saga to Trading Standards, who took up the case on my behalf, but they also got nowhere with Abbey, not even managing to get Andrew Young, the Managing Director, out to see the state of the works – he seems only ever concerned with self-promoting his ‘charity work’. Trading Standards’ intervention did, though, manage to rectify Abbey’s mis-selling of our order with the promise of an M&S voucher under their ‘Winter Fit Deal’ that had never materialised – although I didn’t receive a voucher, I got a cheque instead. The only lucky thing was that we hadn’t signed the purchase agreement on the Solidor that Abbey were going to install and we then went to a lovely family-run firm in Reading that did an excellent job, and cheaper, so we had them do our side windows as well and my son’s house in Tilehurst.

Company Response

This customers has been reported and we are taking legal action. We have undertaken our responsibilities as per our contractual agreement. Sadly the customer project managed their own build with little idea of specification. There was an investigation by Trading Standards, who fell in our favor. Not happy with this the customer appealed against their decision, a second investigation took place and again was found in our favor. Because we wold not be blackmailed we feel the customer is using all avenues to badly and inaccurately portray our business. The report you are showing is damaging our business and not reflective of the over and above we undertook for this customer and request that it is removed. Neil Whitehead Managing Director.

Report this review

If you think this review is a hoax, malicious, unfair or you would like to add a company comment
please report it for investigation

The above reviews are the opinions of the individuals submitting them and not necessarily a true reflection of the performance of this business. We therefore disclaim all liability and responsibility arising from any reliance placed on them.




Loading...